1. August 19, 2012 at 9:19 PM

    Your site is a useful tool for me, as a person living with dementia. Thank you. I guess both options regarding telling a personwith dementia about the death of a loved one is a difficult one, and the family and carers may need to take their previous personalities into consideration too. Difficult for everyone, and more so for all parties to come to a mutual decision. As a PWD, I was initially horrified to read it was witheld from the person person, but with time could see the benefits too.

    The one comment that unsettled me the most was that you said was, “the woman’s doctor had approved the use of any necessary medications for anxiety and/or depression that might be needed”. I would hope if it was me, other options to help me cope would be employed before resorting to medication for anxiety/depression… grief involves much anxiety and depressive symptoms, and can often be healed with therapy, rather than drugs.

    • August 21, 2012 at 10:35 AM

      Thanks for providing your insight. I would like to say that I’m a big proponent of using non-pharmaceutical means of dealing with pain or with emotional/behavioral issues. Many of these folks already take a lot of meds as it is, and so many times the geriatric population responds differently as well. I guess what I meant to say was that I hoped the grieving person’s doctor would be consulted as part of the team, and that a holistic approach is always preferred.

  2. August 20, 2012 at 9:43 PM

    I really wanted to post a simple message in order to thank you for these pleasant strategies you are writing here. My time consuming internet lookup has at the end been recognized with really good concept to go over with my company. I ‘d say that we readers are undeniably lucky to dwell in a really good network with very many outstanding people with insightful opinions. I feel pretty fortunate to have discovered the webpages and look forward to tons of more excellent moments reading here. Thank you again for a lot of things.

  3. August 28, 2012 at 1:01 AM

    Spot on with this blog, I truly feel this site deserves considerably a lot more attention. I’ll possibly be around again to be able to browse much more, many thanks for that information.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

