Home > Media, Site announcements > A Milestone

A Milestone

I have to admit that I had a few trepidations when I started this site, months ago.  I’ve tried blogging before, on various topics, and before very long I lost interest and let them all peter out to nothing.  But in the last several years, I’ve become very passionate about the work I do with persons who are afflicted with dementia, and have studied hard to build my knowledge and my skills, so I can try to make life better for them and for their families and loved ones.  I began to feel the need to share that knowledge and experience with others, so I could help others outside of the few I came into direct contact with every day.

I’ve missed a few days, here and there, due to the distractions of work and other life matters, but I’m proud that I’ve kept up this site as well as I have.  But I’ve also been proud, and more than a little amazed, at the people who have visited this site over the months — from places like Australia, Korea, Malaysia, France, Brazil, and many other countries.  For someone from a small town in Ohio, this is truly a wondrous thing.  I’m deeply flattered by the people who have taken the time to comment on my words, and/or those who have chosen to follow my posts.  I pray that I may continue to be worthy of such attention.

A couple of days ago, when I posted my last entry here, I was amazed when I was informed that it was my 99th post to this site.  That meant that the next post (this one) would be my 100th!  I considered this to be a fantastic milestone, worthy of a really special post.  I spent quite a bit of time thinking about what I would write about today, and finally decided I should put forth something a bit different from what I usually do.  Instead of trying to educate my readers, I decided to entertain them.  (And make them think in the process.)

So, here I offer something from one of my favorite poets, Shel Silverstein.  Years ago, when I was doing speech therapy with children, I had two books of his poems that I would often read to my students.  Many of them produced laughter, but many of them also inspired some careful thought.  The one that I offer here is one of that latter group.  Take time, when you read it, to really ponder what it means for those of us who work with those folks who are journeying along that path called Dementia.

Enjoy!  (And please do let me know your thoughts.)

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

The Little Boy and the Old Man, by Shel Silverstein

Said the little boy, “Sometimes I drop my spoon.”
Said the old man, “I do that too.”
The little boy whispered, “I wet my pants.”
“I do that too,” laughed the little old man.
Said the little boy, “I often cry.”
The old man nodded, “So do I.”
“But worst of all,” said the boy, “it seems
Grown-ups don’t pay attention to me.”
And he felt the warmth of a wrinkled old hand.
“I know what you mean,” said the little old man.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

