Home > Uncategorized > More on Lyme Disease

More on Lyme Disease

Recently, one of my readers asked me a question about the relationship between Lyme disease and Alzheimer’s disease.  I had previously written an article about Lyme disease and dementia (read it here), but went on the web to do a little more research.  I happened to find an article published in August of this year by the journal of the American Medical Association, which gave a rather definitive answer to that question.  After studying records of persons diagnosed with both Lyme Disease and Alzheimer’s Disease, as well as analyzing the parts of the country in which they resided, they came to the conclusion that there was no direct correlation between the two conditions.  Some people who get Lyme disease do show cognitive symptoms, including memory loss, but these symptoms usually go away with time.

This just illustrates something I’ve discussed before in some of my earlier writings.  There are a number of illnesses that can mimic Alzheimer’s disease and other forms of dementia, but may actually be treatable .  Often, the diagnosis of the dementia-producing diseases is exclusionary, meaning that the only real way to get a fairly solid diagnosis is by ruling out other conditions that could produce similar symptoms.

I will try to track down the link to the JAMA article, and add it here, for all to see if they wish.  Right now, my glasses are broken and I’m having to hunt and peck with my eyes about two inches from the keyboard.  Makes things a bit difficult.  But, hopefully, I’ll have my new glasses soon.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

