Home > Uncategorized > Who Wants to Join the Quest?

Who Wants to Join the Quest?

Okay, I’m assuming that people who come to this site are on a quest of sorts, or looking for answers.  Most likely they either have one of the diseases that produce symptoms of dementia, or they know someone who does.  (Or, maybe they are a professional who works in one of the fields that strive to help these individuals.)

Well, as I’ve said before in previous posts, I’m in the process of simplifying that quest — giving people a road map of sorts, to help them navigate through the journey of learning about a particular disease, and then trying to figure out how to deal with it.

Instead of just surfing around the net and pulling up a hodge-podge of information, and then trying to sort it all out, wouldn’t it be nice if someone gave you a nice organized path to follow?  I’m talking about something like this, for example:

1.  Definitions:  Just what is Lewy-Body Disease, anyway?  (And what do all those big words mean that the doctors use?)

2.  What can I expect, if I have it? (Or if my husband has it, etc.) — This will include the stages of the disease, behaviors and other problems that might be encountered by someone who has it,

3.  How do I deal with these problems?  Tips for specific obstacles encountered along the way, from professionals as well as people who have been where you are.  Is there a medical solution?

4.  Where can I turn for help?  (Lists of resources, and a place to talk to others about specific problems you might have.)

5.  What’s being done to treat/cure this problem?

6.  And, eventually, how can I provide help and support to others who are going through this?

Now, I know that a lot of this information is already presented here, on this website.  But I will be the first to admit that it’s in a fairly disorganized form, and requires a fair amount of hunting around to find what you want.  I’m currently working on a way to plug in a specific disorder, such as Alzheimer’s Disease or Vascular Dementia, and find there ONLY articles that pertain to that particular disorder. And they will be presented in a logical order, something like I outlined above, that you can go through in sequence to aid in your learning.  Or, if you like, so that you can jump around and find the answer to one particular question you might have.

And, eventually, this will include a forum where you can ask questions and share ideas with others, a regular podcast where you can learn about related topics, and other features that I’ll keep to myself for now.  (Basically because I’m not all that sure, myself.)  Hey, this is a work in progress!  And any ideas from you will be welcome.

If you’d like to receive notice of when this new site is up and running, or when modifications are made to it, please fill out the form below so that I can send you periodic updates.  I hope you will join me at my new home, and that you will continue to benefit from what I offer there.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

